Figurines – You’ve been bootlegged! – How to not get Bootlegs

So since I’ve always wanted to get into One Piece figurines (more like statues, honestly ^^) I decided to purchase a Luffy figuarts, to test how it would be to own one, to possibly collect them.

I bought a figure that was confirmed to be the original. I made sure to check the Toei sticker, the Bandai logo and that the figurine was real. All was legit and the seller, albeit being chinese, had a near flawless rate of good sales so I thought it was trustable.

And today in my mail this shit arrives:

I’m going to become the king of bootlegs!

First I’d like to comment on the absolutely atrocious condition the box came in. No, it wasn’t me who smashed it in a fit of rage, it literally came in such horrid conditions.

Second of all,  the package clearly lacks the namco logo, the official Toei sticker and any possible decency.

If you just look at the figure for a while you’ll notice the ugly as hell details. For starters Luffy’s face looks like he’s wearing lipstick and it appears he’s about to cross his eyes. The hat is missing paint and the hands and feet lack detail.

There’s even a thingie of plastic stuck between his legs, what the hell is that?

Oh, and should I mention the figure came UPSIDE DOWN???

Yes, the figure was upside down and I had to put it back up to actually appreciate more it’s fakeness (does fakeness even exist as a word?). The box was open anyways so screw “mint condition boxed”

It’s impressive how far a bootleg can go, even to the point of being substituted for a real one.

Thankfully, because of ebay’s customer policies, I have the right to a full refund and a payment for shipping the package back, since the product was “False Advertisement”.

I’m just surprised that this guy has so many positive reviews, it just goes to show how many idiots fall for this kind of trick.

But you could say What’s the issue? Is it that big of a deal?

Yes. Yes it is. Now, I don’t want to spend much money, as I’m someone who is very parsimonious (very unwilling to spend money or use resources). Not greedy (the money spent wasn’t even mine) it’s simply that I worry for other people who give me presents, as I pointlessly worry about them spending too much money. However this bootlegs really aren’t worth their cheap price. They are made of cheap plastic, making them extremely fragile. The conditions in which they arrive are usually outrageous, the paint job is sloppy and in general they just look so ugly. Furthermore you’re not allowing the original producers not to gain their deserved money and just finacing some unoriginal copycats.

The 3 Rules of Bootlegging:

  1. Check online how to indentify a bootleg. For example all One Piece figures feature a Toei sticker.
  2. NEVER BUY FROM CHINA. EVER. I’m not trying to be racist or anything (I’m somebody who hates racism) but most buyers there never try to be fair.
  3. Look for realistic prices. If it’s cheap it’s most probably a bootleg. Things cost, that’s what happens with figures. High quality comes to a high price.

Hopefully this can help you avoid getting bootlegged. It’s very disappointing to open your package box to recieve such abomination and feel like this. Good luck with figure collecting! ^^ (I will post a review of the actually legit figure when I recieve it)

On a happier note a large (legit) package came so stay tuned for that! 😀

Responder

